Bonsai forum

Turning 20+ year old backyard junipers into bonsai..

• pjr300
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Turning 20+ year old backyard junipers into bonsai.. was created by pjr300

Posted 1 year 7 months ago #77883
Hello! This is my first post to this forum. I am relatively new to bonsai, and I have become interested in this discipline somewhat by accident.

Last year I began trimming a juniper that was in the back of my yard. I planted two nursery stock junipers in 2005 when we moved into this new home, which backs up to a golf course. The goal was to create some sense of a border to help golfers respect the boundaries between the course and private property.

So, in 2021, after 16 years of growth, i decided to trim one of these junipers as it was huge and had some die-off from shading of inner branches. I was able to clean up the juniper, but trying to shape it was a disaster. The end result looked like a giant lopsided cloud! I basically left it alone and ignored it until this year, when i tried to give it some edgy shaping (removing the cloud) and in that process, when cleaning up some branches, I exposed the once completely-hidden trunk. Looking back, I realized, wow, it looks a bit like a bonsai tree.

That kicked off a bunch of research on bonsai over the past 3 months! I have been able to find a local bonsai store, join a bonsai club, attend one workshop, and also attend a show at a botanical garden, which presented dozens of trees and also had many glorious trees as part of its permanent display, including one with the estimated age of 800-1000 years! I've also acquired 3 small project trees, plus 3 trees in pots (2 jade, 1 Ficus).

Anyway, I styled juniper #1 into a cascade influenced design. It is not a perfect bonsai, as it breaks many rules (specifically with low branches and crossing branches in some views), but despite removing 75% of the foliage, it is still large, and remains a big hedge, its main role.