Bonsai forum

Jade - By Beginner

• praveent
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Jade - By Beginner was created by praveent

Posted 12 years 6 months ago #2293
Hi,

I am a beginner in tropics (India). I live in South where it never gets cold but, it does get really hot in Summer (more than 104 degrees).

Unfortunately, I recently bought a jade (Portulacaria afra) which on further research everyone comments as a difficult tree for beginners. But, as I have purchased it and cannot return it back I have to work with it :(. I have attached the first picture before pruning and a sketch what I want it to look like in the final form.

I am going slow with pruning because, I am little scared that I might wound the tree if I am reckless :). Please give me your advice.

I will update this thread as we go along.
by praveent

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Re: Jade - By Beginner

Posted 12 years 6 months ago #2295
Hi Praveent,

Good to have you on board here!

I am not sur ewho told you jade was dificult. I find it an exceptionally easy plant to grow and keep alive. They can endure long stretches without Watering, and when you then pick up the watering schedule, the plant my surprise you with a flush of flowers.

The plant itself is very stron. In theory you could trim every branch where you would want to, and it would easily recover from it, sprouting new branches from loads of hidden buds.

Forming may be a bit dificult, as it is not really a woody plant, but a sucuulent bush. It takes a long time for the banches to really become wooden, and strength comes from water pressure in the your branches, causing them to easily break when you bend them. So that is a place to be carefull.