Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Another Newbie collection - Ulmus, Ilex, Ficus 9 years 9 months ago #11369

• spuker1
  • spuker1's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Bonsai but I'm really hooked up on it now and I can't stop thinking about doing something to my trees or getting more of them from somewhere haha! Anyway, I need all sorts of advice from you guys and I was wondering what would you do with the stuff I've got at the moment.

All of them are mass produced Chinese nursery/mall stock but I like them a lot and I hope they'll stay with me for a long time.

So here they are:

1. Ulmus Parvifolia

First tree I ever had, was given to me as a gift. I can't believe it's still alive because it's been fiddled with way to much. Also I've assumed that it can be kept indoors at first (that was what it said on a label, haha). Now it's doing great and it's probably the healthiest tree I've got. I'm not 100% happy with the shape but I'm sure I can make something out of it. What are your ideas? :)

This is the oldest photo I've found of it, right after I've repotted it into this oversized pot with a massive rock next to it. It Improved it a lot!

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

This is how it looks now. It grows outside now in my neighbours garden and it has new 10cm shoots all over it every two weeks, so I assume it really regained all it's health by now:

And this is what I sort of have in mind for it... I might loose one of the left branches or turn it into a little deadwood section, if it's advisable at all for Chinese Elm:

Let me know what you think about it or if you've got better ideas for it :)

2. Ilex Crenata