Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

How Should I Prune My Serissa Foetida/Tree of a Thousand Stars 5 years 7 months ago #44102

• greenthumbalina
  • greenthumbalina's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello! I am a novice indoor gardener/beginner bonsai enthusiast and I am looking for some advice regarding my Serissa Foetida. I bought her as a tiny little plant from a garden show about two years ago. Upon researching, I learned that Serissas are very finicky and that they do not like to be moved around too much and that they can be difficult to care for. After reading this, I was too nervous to prune because I was afraid snipping the branches would cause her to drop all her leaves and now I have a very scraggly little Serissa. I am looking to start pruning now that she has some good growth but I am not sure where to begin. I am also looking for advice regarding encouraging her to bloom. I keep her on my desk next to a bright window and she is surrounded by other plants. Right now she is in an African Violet pot to make sure I don't over or under water her, but I may transfer her to a proper bonsai pot with a humidity tray. I would appreciate any helpful insight regarding my little Tree of a Thousand Stars. Thank you!

Attachment not found

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by greenthumbalina.

How Should I Prune My Serissa Foetida/Tree of a Thousand Stars 5 years 7 months ago #44103

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549
Welcome to the forum!
At the point your little plant is now, there's nothing much to do but hard prune it in the Spring.
The tree is leggy, the trunk too thin, I would chop it down to the second branch growing from the trunk and start all over again.
Sorry about the bad news, but...
And take a look:
www.bonsaiempire.com/tree-species/serissa