Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Trident Maple Pruning 4 years 8 months ago #51253

• seeparks
  • seeparks's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 9
Hi All,

I'm new to the Bonsai community and recently purchased a beautiful Trident Maple. I wanted to do some maintenance / pruning on it but I'm hesitant since I have no experience at all. I'm hoping I can get a bit of guidance on what to do from more experienced bonsai hobbyists. I've attached a picture of the overall tree and a picture where I highlighted some areas where I have questions. Hopefully the pictures will turn out alright since I really had to shrink the size to get it under the 1 MB limit.

The questions I hope to receive guidance on are as follows (questions are number in accordance with the numbers in the second pictures):

1) A small branch is growing which intersects a larger branch above it. I was thinking to cut the smaller branch off so the branches don't cross. Would this be the correct approach or should I instead try to wire it to point in a different direction?

2) There's a small branch sticking straight up from the trunk of the tree without any foliage on it. Since it's so small I was thinking to cut it off fairly close to the trunk of the tree. I shouldn't be concerned with any die back right? I assume die back only occurs if large branches are cut off.

3) A small sprout is growing on the lowest branch on the left side of the tree. Should I remove this or let it grow out? If I'm to remove it, can I just rip it out with my fingers or should I wait for it to grow out some more and cut it with scissors?

4) The branch labelled 4 is wired in a way that the branch first goes up and slopes down. Should I leave the branch as is or point it up slightly at the end to make it look fuller?

I just plan to do those minor cuts and prune off some leaves to promote growth. Since I just recently purchased this tree, I'll let it grow more and get fuller before doing anything too drastic.