Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Ficus Retusa suggestions 3 years 6 months ago #63407

• ManniMarciano
  • ManniMarciano's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
(Disclosure: Not here to debate the inclusivity of Ficus Retusa/Ginseng within the Bonsai community.)

I've been caring for this Ficus Ginseng for several years now, after rescuing it from the clearance shelf at Walmart. So before anyone suggests I scrap it, it's here to stay. We are bonded.

Now, I've been very limited in my ability to purchase materials and tools designed for the art of bonsai, so I've been utilizing standard garden tools that I own.

While it's been outside this summer, I've been doing plenty of reading, and watching videos, on how-to's and technique. Now I look to possibly repot soon, so I'm toying with ideas (More aerial roots? Further exposed roots? New angle?) before choosing a pot. Ultimately, I'm posting to see if anyone can point me down the right road to pruning/wiring. Which step would be suggested I do next?

Thanks in advance for any feedback and knowledge shared.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ficus Retusa suggestions 3 years 6 months ago #63409

• lucR
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 487
Well... in my opinion it isn't and never will be a bonsai. Let me explain myself: your ginseng is the branches of one ficus grafted on the ( ugly) roots of another. Now i know beauty is in the eye of the beholder but this will never make a mini tree that looks like a real grown tree ( because they dont exist in nature is one of the arguements)

You have a very healthy houseplant ( good job on placing it outside), and you should treat it as such.If you like it then by all means , continue what you are doing.

Ficus Retusa suggestions 3 years 6 months ago #63410

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1352