Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Advice for shaping my new Juniper Bonsai 2 years 9 months ago #69376

• bonsaidev
  • bonsaidev's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Just purchased this Juniper bonsai from a nursery by my house. No idea how old it is (maybe some of you more experienced bonsai owners would be able to estimate.) As far as styling this goes, I’ve drawn up some ideas, found the “front” that I want, but I would like more advice since I am a beginner.- My plan was to remove all of the smaller branches that are attached to the thicker more mature branches. I wanted give the tree a cleaner look as it just looks like a big mushroom top right now. - my other plan was to wire the branches in an upward angle because as of right now the branches reach up and curve aggressively horizontal at the tops.Again these are all just ideas. I really have no clue what I’m doing but I’m open to suggestions and input! Thanks in advance!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Advice for shaping my new Juniper Bonsai 2 years 9 months ago #69380

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1326
Horticulture first, any bonsaiish comes after. Your tree needs to be outside, inside it will die. Now is the wrong time of the year to style a juniper in most of the world. So just spend time caring for it and give it a strong healthy new growth. If you acomplish that you can style in late winter or early spring. Meanwhile you can study the art of bonsai and your tree. Make up a plan how you want the tree too look in the future.