Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

First time pruning and shaping a juniper... or anything! 2 years 7 months ago #71968

• Bella Cataline
  • Bella Cataline's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hello!
A short time ago I was gifted a little juniper bonsai tree by a family member. I've done some research but I'm still very new to this wonderful world of bonsai, so be gentle with me please. I have some questions about pruning and shaping my tree.
It was given already in a kind cascade shape. (I can't really say cascade because the trunk doesn't grow upward or arch before flowing down) Does it have to maintain that shape? Or can I change it?
And if I could change it, how do I decide what to change it into? Do I just look up pictures of junipers and choose a style I like? Or is there a certain ways junipers should look?
What resources can I find to tell me exactly how to wire and prune? I'm concerned about hurting it.
Thank you for your help!

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

First time pruning and shaping a juniper... or anything! 2 years 7 months ago #71969

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
This just a young plant that looks to be growing quite well. I hope it is outside in the sunshine and not inside. I would suggest buying a book there are many good ones around and learn how to keep the species first then you can do the other things. The style can be changed at the moment it is not styled, that is ok as it is not ready. Water and sun is what is needed. Next year once you have found out how to prune then you can start to style. Don't assume it has to be re potted, check to see if it is root bound first, and not until next spring.

First time pruning and shaping a juniper... or anything! 2 years 7 months ago #71971

• Bella Cataline