Bonsai forum

Smoke Bush strategy

• Jamminsalmon
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1

Smoke Bush strategy was created by Jamminsalmon

Posted 11 months 1 week ago #80223
Hey all,
Still very new to Bonsai and I recently picked up a lilla smoke bush (cotinus coggygria lilla). Based on my understanding its not technically a tree, but I wanted to experiment with this one for bonsai as it seems to grow very well in my climate and I love the look of it (Im near Denver, Colorado USA).

I'm hoping some of you can help me understand some of my options for growing this one out. As a newbie, I dont feel like I understand all of the opportunities that the existing structure might offer. I'd like to develop a thicker base/trunk and ideally encourage this to grow for more height. I didnt want to rush into anything until I could get some ideas from anyone who might be willing to offer their expertise.

Any help or commentary would be greatly appreciated. A picture should be attached and can provide any more as needed. Thanks in advance and I look forward to any conversation we might have on this one.
by Jamminsalmon

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1361

Replied by Tropfrog on topic Smoke Bush strategy

Posted 11 months 1 week ago #80225
If you want to grow out the trunk and height there are no work to be done now except for watering and fertilizing.

In the long run, when you are happy with the trunk I think the two obvious posibilities is Bloom style or informal upright. I would go for clip and grow instead of wiering.
by Tropfrog
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jamminsalmon

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Smoke Bush strategy

Posted 11 months 1 week ago #80228