Bonsai forum

New limbs on a salvage Fukien Tea

• matthopi
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

New limbs on a salvage Fukien Tea was created by matthopi

Posted 9 years 10 months ago #11036
Hello everyone and thank you in advance for taking the time to consider my question. I am new to Bonsai. I have been into the game about 6 months and have 3 plants so far. Although I have read books and done a considerable amount of online research I cannot find help for my situation.

This is my first tree and I got it at Christmas time last year. This Fukien tea tree was ordered online and got cold during the shipment to Kentucky. When I received it all of the leaves had fallen off and it looked dead. I sent pictures of the tree to the company and they sent me a new tree this spring, even though they told me that with enough care it might recover. I placed the tree in a terrarium under a grow lamp and it didnt take long to know that it had not died. It surely enough started to sprout new branches and a couple of the inner branches started to grow leaves again. after about 2 months I pruned all but maybe one or two dead branches, I left one in particular because I kind of like it. 6-months later it has all of these new branches. I have had a guide wires on it for a while to try to guide the branches toward making "pads". I have fairly recently moved the tree outside and it seems to be doing very well.