Bonsai forum

Unsure Bonsai Tree Owner - Any tips/soil ideas?

• ah
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Unsure Bonsai Tree Owner - Any tips/soil ideas? was created by ah

Posted 5 years 1 month ago #47675
Hello!

I got my bonsai around two years ago, and believe I should repot it. The roots are wrapped around the bottom of my pot. I have a Ficus Ginseng (Microcarpa) bonsai tree.
I have read that reporting should happen right after the cold season (beginning of spring) for this plant. My first question is... Is now a good time to do this? The recent weather has been in the 30s, and it’s starting to become a high of 40s/50s by next week.
I also read soil should be around pH 6.0 and 6.5. Is this true? I really don’t want to do something wrong and harm my bonsai tree, so what soil should I use?
Another thing; pruning root mass. I am really no expert! Is it necessary?
And finally (I promise), how big of a pot should I use. I will attach some images of my bonsai tree and pot now. However, I did not repot my bonsai tree, I just set the IKEA container into the pot I bought and put sponge underneath. This was not a good idea though, because the roots have grown into the sponge (and this is another reason why I think I should repot it)! Should I just replant it in the blue pot, or should I get a new bigger one?

I am so so sorry for all the questions! I am just really nervous, and don’t want to mess things up. Also, it is sometimes easier to hear information from an ‘interaction’ rather than a website.
Thank you so much! - Bonsai Tree Lover! :)
by ah

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Replied by Auk on topic Unsure Bonsai Tree Owner - Any tips/soil ideas?

Posted 5 years 1 month ago #47676

ah wrote: I got my bonsai around two years ago, and believe I should repot it.