Bonsai forum

New Guy

• MichaelF478
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

New Guy was created by MichaelF478

Posted 4 years 6 months ago #53691
I'm brand new to this hobby and was looking around online for some information and found this site. I'm from middle Ga and have 4 trees. I have a Fukien Tea, and a Brazillian rain tree. The other two I'm just growing out for the time being. I was wondering what everyone is using for there soil mixtures around here. I'm in a Facebook group and they all recommended some different types but I can't seem to find any of that around here. I'd like to just go pick stuff up from the big box stores if possible. Any recommendations??
by MichaelF478

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Hansen
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thanks received: 86

Replied by Hansen on topic New Guy

Posted 4 years 6 months ago #53692
It depends on wich tree, the weather in your area etc. The best advice is to ask the people with most experience, in your area. The know what works. In here you will also get recommended 10 different soil mixes.
by Hansen

• MichaelF478
  • Offline Topic Author

Replied by MichaelF478 on topic New Guy

Posted 4 years 6 months ago #53693
I have noticed that reading online. I've basically decided what I want to try but now I'm trying to figures out substitutes for akadama and pumice. Put together a order online and it was right at 60$. Bad thing is that it wasn't even enough lol.
by MichaelF478

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic New Guy

Posted 4 years 6 months ago #53695
Which country are you in?