Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Thicker trunk, help! 4 years 1 month ago #56705

• Newbiepber
  • Newbiepber's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello everyone! I’m new to bonsai, I bought a little Juniper from a local nursery called Eastern Leaf in Southern California last July. It’s doing well but I want it to grow thicker and taller. I’ve read and seen videos saying to plant it in a large pot but I’ve never repotted before and was wondering if I set up the soil mixture the same as if it were still going into a small pot? Also how large is too large for the pot to have it grow? Attached is a few images of my lil guy please help me grow this dude big and strong!

Edit: Hmmm looks like the pictures aren't showing up, I'll try to solve this once I'm able to get on my laptop

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Newbiepber.

Thicker trunk, help! 4 years 1 month ago #56707

• persimmon
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 54
The bigger the pot, the faster it grows. But it will take years and years to thicken a trunk.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Clicio

Thicker trunk, help! 4 years 1 month ago #56709

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Hello everyone! I’m new to bonsai, I bought a little Juniper from a local nursery called Eastern Leaf in Southern California last July.

Without a picture I can only recommend to read reviews about the shop where you buy something. Not all are very good.

davesgarden.com/products/gwd/c/7303/0/#b

Last edit: Post by Auk.

Thicker trunk, help! 4 years 4 weeks ago #56713

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653
junipers grow best when the roots have filled the pot.a so do not get too big a pot. i would not increase pot size by more than 100% from the one it is in now.

more important than pot size is proper water and fertilizer. and sun of course.