Bonsai forum

Repot 10 month old ficus and delonix regia?

• Amandrax
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Repot 10 month old ficus and delonix regia? was created by Amandrax

Posted 3 years 3 months ago #64572
Hello all,

I am very new to bonsai, and started my first seeds in March 2020. I now have two 10-month old trees (one ficus religiosa and one delonix regia/royal poinciana) which have grown quite large and have roots growing out the drainage holes of their pots. The ficus is about 9 inches tall and the trunk is just under 0.5 inch thick at the soil line. The delonix regia is 11.5 inches tall and just over 0.5 inch thick at the soil line.

I have heard that it is best to repot in the spring, but should I repot now since the roots are growing out of the drainage holes? Given their size, should I consider a bonsai pot or is it still too early for that?

I appreciate any advice you could give. Thank you!
by Amandrax

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1361

Replied by Tropfrog on topic Repot 10 month old ficus and delonix regia?

Posted 3 years 3 months ago #64573
Less than a year old seedling? You need to wait 5-20 years before putting it in bonsai pot, depending on the size and style you are aiming for.
by Tropfrog

• arussman

Replied by arussman on topic Repot 10 month old ficus and delonix regia?

Posted 3 years 2 months ago #65637
Hi,

I'm actually having a very similar issue with my delonix regia, which is very young, but has roots growing out of the bottom of the pot. I was wondering the same question and was hoping someone would provide an actual answer as to whether we should wait for spring to take out of the pot, prune the roots, then re-pot.

Thanks,
Adam
by arussman

• arussman

Replied by arussman on topic Repot 10 month old ficus and delonix regia?