Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Newbie question - emergency repotting 8 years 7 months ago #16720

• Jibletjames
  • Jibletjames's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi all,

First time poster here.....I'm new to the art of bonsai and got my first two around a month ago but been doing a lot of reading around the subject and have a question that the wise sages can hopefully help with. Current situation is:

My trees were bought from a bonsai nursery near Cheltenham, will post pics but told they are around 3-5 years old. Both sold as indoor bonsai (told you I was a newbie), they look to be potted in relatively heavy soil / compost....I'm guessing potting compost maybe, but not sure what is at the base so may have something better draining but I'm not sure. Only two drainage holes in the bases of pots and no sign of mesh / wires under the base.

Japanese holly seems to be doing okay, but the Chinese elm isn't showing much in the way of new growth as I'd assumed would be expected at this time of year, I'm feeding them bi-weekly with balanced NPK fertiliser and plan to gradually move at least the Chinese elm outside to acclimatise - based on advice from here :)

My concern is that I was advised to water by immersion / dunking, and have read that this is something that is only really recommended when drainage is poor and usually when mass grown mallsai style plants are still left in the soil they are imported in. I know it's completely out of season for repotting but also read that in some cases this is justified so wanted to ask advice......should I:

1 Leave both until spring and repot?
2 Repot just the Chinese elm?
3 Repot both?

If I should report then should I leave the roots alone at this point or prune? I've used s chopstick to try and make additional drainage around the edge of both pots and the Japanese holly at least seems to have a hell of a lot of roots under the surface, and also a larger root that has emerged above ground.