Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Care for recently repotted trees 7 years 11 months ago #20632

• Tripleovertime
  • Tripleovertime's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I've just finished repotting two young trees I purchased from the bonsai nursery; a Japanese larch and a Chinese Elm. Though this is my first time potting anything in a bonsai soil mix I'm fairly confident I've done so correctly. I've read, on this site, that once a tree has been repotted that it should be protected from strong winds and the sun for about two months. The wind part is obvious but how much should I reduce the sunlight? Zero direct sun? Filtered sunlight? Bright but no direct light? What are people's opinions on this?

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Tripleovertime.

Care for recently repotted trees 7 years 11 months ago #20637

• m5eaygeoff
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
It is very late to be repotting Larch. It is risky once they are in full leaf. The protection needed is from frost and winds for 2 or 3 weeks, then they should be fine. Fertiliser can be started after about 4 weeks.Full sun if fine as long as they do not dry out.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tripleovertime

Care for recently repotted trees 7 years 11 months ago #20638

• Tripleovertime
Thanks for your reply... Hopefully I haven't doomed my new tree by repotting too late. I had read that they can be repotted during Spring, just as the buds erupt. Also read that the timing is very tight and that you can't repot once the leafs extend much.

We had a very cold early Spring in my part of the world (Canada) so maybe that delayed the budding? The needles have only just erupted a few millimeters from the buds if that makes any difference

Care for recently repotted trees 7 years 11 months ago #21524

• eangola
  • Platinum Member