Bonsai forum

Where to buy Bonsai as a beginner

• CaptainVanisher
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Where to buy Bonsai as a beginner was created by CaptainVanisher

Posted 11 months 2 weeks ago #80149
I want to buy one bonsai with a kit so I can grow it overtime. I am a beginner and don't have much experience with bonsais. This site seems very reliable and has good instructions but my problem is that it only has 3 options for indoor bonsai kits and I am not very excited with any of them. Do you have any suggestions or should I just start with one of the options given here?

I am in Greece so shipping to EU is expected.
by CaptainVanisher

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1359

Replied by Tropfrog on topic Where to buy Bonsai as a beginner

Posted 11 months 2 weeks ago #80151
There are not one single tree that naturally grows indoors. It is possible to grow a very few species indoors, but they will never thrive. All of us grows trees outdoors. A very few of us keeps a ficus indoors in winter. But always outdoors in summer.

If you want to grow bonsai indoors, Ill recomend to get a jade tree from your local garden center. Not really a tree, but possible to make it look like a bonsai. Going for any other species indoors all year will just make you dissapointed and leave the hobby.

I have somewhere around 120 trees in different stages of development. Out of them 4 is purshased as bonsai, rest of them is garden center or colected materials. Out of the 4 ones I bought as bonsai, just one is from a place that have a regular stock of bonsais. The other 3 is from very temporary stock or from other hobbyists.

To cunclude: bonsai is created not purshased. Bonsai is an outdoor hobby.
by Tropfrog

• Northwood
  • Thanks received: 3

Replied by Northwood on topic Where to buy Bonsai as a beginner

Posted 11 months 2 weeks ago #80159