Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Should I fertilize my trident maple? 4 years 11 months ago #48772

• Ryan08
  • Ryan08's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi everyone.
I am new to bonsais. I bought a trident maple 2 months ago. It seems to be going ok but I have not given it any food yet. It is just about to hit winter in Australia so I am not sure when I should be feeding it.

There are also some little greenage growing aswell, should that be removed? I kind of like it

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Should I fertilize my trident maple? 4 years 11 months ago #48774

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
I assume you are talking about fertilizer? The thing that is most like food for plants is sunlight, which is where plants get their energy. Normally you would give plants fertilizer every other week or so during the growing season. So in my garden your plant would have had fertilizer already 3 times.

Should I fertilize my trident maple? 4 years 11 months ago #48775

• Ryan08
  • Ryan08's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Yes sorry fertilizer. Ok I should probably get some for it then. I read a 20-20-20 fertilizer is best. Any suggestions?

Should I fertilize my trident maple? 4 years 11 months ago #48779

• Fonz
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 46
If winter is coming where you live I should hold back on the fertilizer. If you got a couple of months before the tree hits dormancy you can probably still use some high K and low N fertilizer.

Should I fertilize my trident maple? 4 years 11 months ago #48780

• m5eaygeoff
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 855