Bonsai forum

Japanese Maple and Apple Trees

• PandaMazing
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Japanese Maple and Apple Trees was created by PandaMazing

Posted 4 years 8 months ago #51842
Hello, I'm new to bonsai and plants in general, but I managed to germinate one japanese maple and 2 apple trees this year, now the saplings are about 6 inches tall. I live in alberta and it gets really cold in the winter so they'll have to be inside. How should my set up look like? What do I need to keep them warm and to have them survive untill spring? Also what should I be fertilizing them with right now and when they're bigger?
by PandaMazing

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Japanese Maple and Apple Trees

Posted 4 years 8 months ago #51845
When winter comes and the leaves have fallen, put them in a place that does not drop below -10c. Most of winter they should be fine outside, just during real cold protect them.
Do not keep them indoors at room temperature or they will just wither away.
by leatherback

• Ivan Mann
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 603

Replied by Ivan Mann on topic Japanese Maple and Apple Trees

Posted 4 years 8 months ago #51846
A bonsai professional in Rochester, NY, moves all his trees into a garage in October before it gets too cold and leaves them there until March or do. He has a small heater that keeps the temperature no too far below freezing, probably about Leatherback's range. He has a major problem with mice nibbling away at bark.

Your climate is probably a tad cooler than New York, but you would probably do about the same. Your trees want cold weather to go dormant. They don't want sudden extreme changes.
by Ivan Mann

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Japanese Maple and Apple Trees