Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Beginner With Chinese Elm, Tap Water No No? 7 years 11 months ago #20586

• homi576
  • homi576's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello everyone

I have 9yr Chinese Elm and I am a beginner to everything bonsia, always wanted one now I have :cheer:. I have been doing a lot of research on how to care for it and I can across something about watering, it said tap water would be detrimental to the tree due to the chemicals and preservatives in the water. Is this true?

If so what can you recommend for watering, is there anything I can put in the water to remove the chemicals or a watering solution of some kind? Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Beginner With Chinese Elm, Tap Water No No? 7 years 11 months ago #20587

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I have 9yr Chinese Elm
I have been doing a lot of research on how to care for it and I can across something about watering, it said tap water would be detrimental to the tree. Is this true?

Depends. I guess you should check your water supplier and find out what's in it. I use tap water for my indoor plants (no bonsai) and when necessary, when it doesn't rain, for my outdoor plants and bonsai. I've not noticed any negetive effects.

If so what can you recommend for watering, is there anything I can put in the water to remove the chemicals or a watering solution of some kind? Thanks

Can you collect rain water?

Beginner With Chinese Elm, Tap Water No No? 7 years 11 months ago #20591

• simplysaid
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thanks received: 54
Personally... I read that azalea don't like hard water so I use filtered water from a brita water filter just for the azalea. I read online that you can filter water through a cotton sock with sand in in. Also... Letting tap water sit for a few hours, will allow the harder chemicals to sink to the bottom.