Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

New to bonsai shaping/trimming/training!!!! 7 years 11 months ago #21837

• Bhawk
  • Bhawk's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi everyone! I am fairly new to the art of bonsai and have been doing a bunch of research lately and recently bought 2 pre-bonsai to grow through time, but that's not why I'm here. I received a gift from my long time family friend today of a tree they told me was about 8 years old or so. They have lost interest in it and gladly gave it to me for free. They have not done anything to the tree besides let it grow and then threw it into a bonsai pot. I carefully moved some of the top lava rock and soil to see more of the roots and it looks to have wires in the roots and going through the mesh on the bottom. I'm here because I'm looking for some guidance into what the best shape and style for my tree would be along with what to do and what to trim to create such style. Any help, tips, and/or guidance would be tremendously appreciated. I am positive the tree is a juniper as well! Thank you for your time!! :P

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New to bonsai shaping/trimming/training!!!! 7 years 11 months ago #21841

• Bhawk
  • Bhawk's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Here are some pictures of the tree!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

New to bonsai shaping/trimming/training!!!! 7 years 11 months ago #21842

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I received a gift from my long time family friend today of a tree they told me was about 8 years old or so. They have lost interest in it and gladly gave it to me for free.

I love free trees :)

They have not done anything to the tree besides let it grow and then threw it into a bonsai pot.

Unfortunately, the result is that you now have a copy of a mallsai, rather than a pre-bonsai.

I carefully moved some of the top lava rock

Are you sure that's lava?