Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Where to Start 7 years 1 month ago #29926

• EdwardDaggerhands
  • EdwardDaggerhands's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hey, everyone.

I’m brand new to the art of bonsai and, like most, I am eager to start practicing. However, I also want to ensure I’m maintaining a reasonable pace and not getting ahead of myself. I will be receiving a three-year-old Golden Gate Ficus when the weather permits (due to shipping concerns), but I would like to explore other avenues while I await its arrival. I’ve been reading a lot about propagating bonsai from cuttings, but I am curious where to start. Can a cutting be acquired from ANY tree (i.e. a full-grown coniferous in my neighborhood, local park, woods, etc.), or would I be better off trimming from preexisting bonsai? I live in the Pacific Northwest, so if anyone has any suggestions as to what commonplace tree I might be able to utilize for cuttings, that would be fantastic. Please let me know if this is too advanced a practice for me to be taking on this early. Thanks in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Where to Start 7 years 1 month ago #29927

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I will be receiving a three-year-old Golden Gate Ficus

If it's only 3 years old, it will take years of growth and training before it can become a bonsai.

I’ve been reading a lot about propagating bonsai from cuttings

You don't propagate bonsai from cuttings, you propagate plants or trees. These then can be trained to become bonsai. This, again, requires many years of growth and training.

Can a cutting be acquired from ANY tree

Any tree or shrub that is suitable for bonsai and that can be propagated by cuttings.

I be better off trimming from preexisting bonsai?