Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner looking for some advice/help 7 years 5 months ago #27317

• mrmiles
  • mrmiles's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello all,
I'm a beginner bonsai owner in college. I went to a local hardware store and they had some bonsai trees for like $20. It looked like it was an off cut from another tree that was replanted. Based on the trees I was finding on the internet the price seemed really low for a bonsai so I'm not even sure if its real. That being said I'm still going to try and grow it because I like my tiny tree. I've had it for about 3 months now and It's doing fairly well I think, It's growing bigger and the one broken bit on it where I assume a branch once was has kind of sealed itself which I figure is a good sign. I'm pretty sure it's some sort of juniper, and my question is how vital is it to keep it outside? I don't really have the option to keep it outside because there isn't anywhere safe to put it outside where a drunken college kid won't try and eat it. For the time being I'm keeping it close to the window in my room where it will experience some temperature change since the window isn't insulated very well. Do you think it will be ok there for the year that I'm in this place or should I consider building something to hang outside my window. In addition to this I've been giving it some fertilizer I made out of crushed egg shells, finely diced banana peel and coffee grounds. I haven't used much but I figured it would be better than nothing since I don't know exactly what I'm supposed to be giving it. Will this home made mixture suffice, or should I invest in some actual fertilizer and if so what do you recommend? Also how vital is pruning? If it's not necessary for the health of the tree I would rather let it grow naturally, but if not what are some tips? Attached is a picture of the bonsai if anyone can give me an more accurate identification of the tree that'd be appreciated, also I appreciate any additio