Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

New Planter Here...Fertilizer?? 5 years 10 months ago #40435

• bluewaterpig
  • bluewaterpig's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
My new bonsai kit is arriving today. I went with the Planter’s Choice 4 tree starter kit (hope this is a good one).

It seems like some bonsai trees turn out much healthier and cooler looking than others, and I’m wondering if there’s a way to ensure that my tree grows nicely from the start.

So my question is...for a total beginner, do the experts out there recommend any special steps? Maybe specific soil or a fertilizer? My kit comes with “expanding soil discs”, which I’m guessing isn’t the best growing environment for my seeds.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Planter Here...Fertilizer?? 5 years 10 months ago #40436

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549

New Planter Here...Fertilizer?? 5 years 10 months ago #40437

• Badger
  • Thanks received: 0
I'm relatively new to Bonsai as well but here are the few tips I know. 1. Buy the right type of plant for your environment ex. indoor vs outdoor, tropical vs deciduous (leaves fall off in the fall).
2. Light, you can never have enough light. except for the very few species that do well in the shade. If indoor get lights that can supplement the natural sun. Keep plants in window with south facing light, they need about 10-16 hours a day of good sunlight.
3. Water. You're new so I recommend a cheap water gauge to test the soil moisture. Over/Under watering is the killer of most plants from what I've heard, along with not enough light. Seeds need to be propagated with a florescent light or indirect or filtered sunlight.
I hope this helps. Again I'm new too so always learning.
Cheers,
Badger

New Planter Here...Fertilizer?? 5 years 10 months ago #40442

• bluewaterpig
Just ordered a dual plant light and a moisture/light/pH gauge.