Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Is my Chinese elm dead 5 years 3 months ago #45821

• JacksBonsai
  • JacksBonsai's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hey i'm a bonsai noob (everyone rolls their eyes)\
i recently got bought a bonsai, its a chinese elm and it was kept in an outside greenhouse.
it has no leaves on it but as its been kept in outdoor temperatures i assume its seasonal? as it is now indoors, how often should i water/feed it whilst it has no leaves on it? and how long should it take to start budding again… hoping i havent been sold a VERY expensive and pretty twig?

HELP!

lee

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Is my Chinese elm dead 5 years 3 months ago #45822

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 850
If you have recently bought this dead tree I suggest you take it back. If it was outside when you bought it why did you not keep it out.? If it had no leaves when you bought it then it may be ok,Put it outside. but if it has lost them since you bought it then that is not good. Greenhouses have a lot more light and much different conditions than a centrally heated dry house.

Is my Chinese elm dead 5 years 3 months ago #45823

• JacksBonsai
thanks for your reply. it had no leaves on when i brought it and was assured that if i brought it inside and just made sure the soil didnt totally dry out it would be fine. the bark hasnt wrinkled or anything so im assuming its ok just dormant, i was wondering how long before it started to bud again so i could gauge if its ok?

Is my Chinese elm dead 5 years 3 months ago #45824

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

as it is now indoors

Why on earth would you want to do that??

Is my Chinese elm dead 5 years 3 months ago #45825

• JacksBonsai