Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Juniper During Winter 9 years 3 months ago #14042

• Figgy_11
  • Figgy_11's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello Everyone!
I got a Juniper as a Christmas gift. I'm new to the art so I began doing my research trying to figure out how to best take care of it and I know it shouldn't be in the house but It's winter time now and the tree should be in dormancy but I don't know whether I should put it outside or not as not to shock the tree. The temperature in the coming days will be around -2C to -7C. I also read some people put them in garages or sheds during the winter time, but I was thinking is it ok to put it in a cold room? I read it doesn't do any significant photosynthesis during that state anyways so the lack of light shouldn't be a problem. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Here's some pics!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Juniper During Winter 9 years 3 months ago #14046

• Orlando
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thanks received: 151
Looks like a Juniper procumbens nana,If it was mine i put it in a garage to acclimate.
And if the temp rise to above 0 c bring it outdoors,out of the wind.

Cheers

Juniper During Winter 9 years 3 months ago #14051

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
What country are you in? -2 is nothing for Juniper. Inside is a death sentence.

Juniper During Winter 9 years 3 months ago #14053

• Grammywehr
I am in this same situation. My husband bought me two for Christmas- a juniper and a Chinese elm. When they arrived over a week ago, he put them in a spare bedroom. Now both are showing little buds of new growth. I live in Pennsylvania. Temps are currently above freezing, but that is unusual. We will soon have temps going down as far as below 0F. Do I put them outside, or keep them in the house?

Juniper During Winter 9 years 3 months ago #14055