Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Western Hemlock (Tsuga Heterophyllia) 6 years 9 months ago #34396

• Sleuth
  • Sleuth's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 2
Hello,
I'm Patrick, and am new to this site as well with the art of bonsai. I have been collecting and training trees for about 2 years now. My question has to do with this 3-5ish I think year old Hemlock I collected off the top of a decaying flat-cut stump. I cut the stump roughly 3" from the top and took the entire disc the roots had grown into. What is the best way to maximize safety to remove the roots from the stump? Also because of the way the tree grew (which is awesome) I'm not sure of the best style of pot or how to pot it so it looks just as awesome. Any help, tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to your thoughts and opinions.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Western Hemlock (Tsuga Heterophyllia) 6 years 9 months ago #34423

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Also because of the way the tree grew (which is awesome) I'm not sure of the best style of pot or how to pot it so it looks just as awesome

This is a young tree that needs lots and lots of growth and development to become a bonsai in the future. A pot is typically chosen when the tree has been styled and it has reached maturity. There is no need to choose a pot at this time, this tree should not be in a bonsai pot yet.

Western Hemlock (Tsuga Heterophyllia) 6 years 9 months ago #34428

• Sleuth