• Page:

TOPIC:

Would jade plants do well in akadama? 2 years 9 months ago #69998

• Wes V.
  • Wes V.'s Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 17
I saw some jade plants at a nursery yesterday and they looked trainable as bonsai. They were in 1 gallon pots (~3.79 liters) and in potting soil. If I were to train one as bonsai, would it be okay to change the medium from potting mix to akadama? Would it cause a shock?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Would jade plants do well in akadama? 2 years 9 months ago #69999

• ukamikazu
  • Thanks received: 3
Succulents are major aspect of my horticultural life, though I am new to bonsai, I'm an old hat with plants in general.

Crassula ovata only requires that its soil drain rapidly and really has no pH preference though if its soil is too acidic or too alkaline, it will inhibit nutrient uptake, not that succulents in general need a lot of feeding, though beware of excess nitrogen. It makes them grow really leggy.

Akadama will likely make the soil too acidic.

Really, the best soil is one specifically for cactus & succulents. Any commercial soil for them will do, whether it's Bonsai Jack or Miracle Gro.

And remember, Jade has really shallow roots so it can easily topple so pack the soil firmly, but not like gunpowder.

Enjoy!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Wes V.

Last edit: Post by ukamikazu.

Would jade plants do well in akadama? 2 years 9 months ago #70007

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1351
I dont think akadama is acidic.

For my jades I use a mix of 50% cactii soil and 50% pumice. Repotting every 3-4 years. Pumice is sifted out and reused.

Would jade plants do well in akadama? 2 years 9 months ago #70022

• ukamikazu
Correct, akadama itself is not acidic but it's ability to rip certain ions out of solution is what makes it make water/soil acidic.